FacebookTwitterYoutubePinterestInstagram

    Luxembourg Garden

    An expansive, lavish garden in the city.

    Whether you are a local of Paris or simply visiting, the Luxembourg gardens are a part of the city you don't want to miss out on… Here you encounter the veritable Parisian art de vivre; a cocktail of appreciating nature, artistic enjoyment, sports, relaxing and leisure activities.

    It was Marie de Médicis, residing in the Louvre (the royal court), who first dreamed of moving to this country-style suburb. She bought up a few villas, including that of the Duke François de Luxembourg, in 1612, and would later begin to redesign the entire area into a lavish garden.

    Nicknamed the "Luco", this is a great place for families looking for a bit of fresh air; you can even catch puppet shows or let the kids enjoy mini-sailing-boat races and pony-rides! Sports-enthusiasts will be thankful for the tennis courts, basketball courts, and bowling ("pétanque") areas…

    Aside this variety of leisure activities, culture-vultures are also recurrent visitors. With its numerous sculptures and monuments, it is an open-air museum in its own right… Be sure to check out the Palais du Luxembourg (seat of the Senate), the Musée du Luxembourg and the Orangery.

    Schedules and prices

    From Tuesday 1 to Tuesday 15 April 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 20:00
    From Wednesday 16 to Wednesday 30 April 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 20:15
    From Thursday 1 to Thursday 15 May 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 20:45
    From Friday 16 to Saturday 31 May 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 21:00
    From Sunday 1 to Sunday 15 June 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 21:15
    From Monday 16 to Monday 30 June 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 21:30
    From Tuesday 1 to Tuesday 15 July 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 21:15
    From Monday 16 July 2012 to Saturday 31 July 2021 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 21:00
    From Friday 1 to Friday 15 August 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 20:45
    From Saturday 16 to Sunday 31 August 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 20:15
    From Monday 1 to Monday 15 September 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 19:45
    From Tuesday 16 to Tuesday 30 September 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:30 to 19:15
    From Wednesday 1 to Wednesday 15 October 2014 :
        Every day, from 07:45 to 18:45
    From Thursday 16 to Monday 27 October 2014 :
        Every day, from 08:00 to 18:15
    From Tuesday 28 to Friday 31 October 2014 :
        Every day, from 08:00 to 17:15

    Admission prices :
        Free

 
 
    tagged as : Nature & outdoors, Paris & Ile de France